Gentlemen, kick sart your av10 engines!

I rebuilt my motobecane av10 engine with new crank bearings + seals and mounted the kick start unit to use the modified Doppler Er2 clutch pulley with a solid 2 way bearing to solve the problems I’ve been having with the one way bearing designed to push start the bike.

I can’t wait to try that new transmission set-up. It should be the perfect street/race 50cc motobecane with reliability,  fast take offs, accelerations and top speed. I’ll remove the clutch pulley + kick start on the track to get a more direct and quicker acceleration and to keep the bike lighter.

Bonus pics and videos:

I came back from a Friday night ride with the Wooly Bullies moped gang. Lots of mopeds and lots of fun. I can’t get enough of that 2 stroke smell. I finally met Honest Mike, cool dude. The ride was fast but no bikes could keep up with our mobys. I love the power of 50cc variated motobecane bikes with launch lever. People don’t really realize how fast they are until they get blasted on a ride. I replaced the air box with a TNT scooter filter. The bike is starting to look more like a moped now. I might repaint the frame once I’m done with the clutch pulley/kick start set-up.

The 2 fastest motobecane bikes in LA parked in downtown at Farmer Boys restaurant.

Meeting at Choke moped store. Check out the Tron neon lights, rad!

Cruising through Pasadena. I’m still having problems at low end with slow throttle response, I may have to change my spark plug and check the ignition.

Here’s a video from Honest Mike “the King of Low Def”. He goes to a lot of moped/scooter rides and brings videos edited and uploaded in record time. He shot some videos last night of the Bullies ride, blasting his bike the camera in one hand to the other hand on the handlebars, that guy is a pro.

I just got a cool home made trophy gift from Treats. Gender bender hill race 2008 1st place. Thanks guys! I feel like I was there and won it :). I missed all the good races since I only started doing mopeds in the US in 2009. I will proudly expose it in my living room and maybe in my future shop.

4 comments

  1. naz

    HFL3030, gets rid of the shudder that is common with the 3020 bearing and the doppler pulley already has the second grove cut to run the 10mm wider bearing. Just did another for Ian T. from the mosquito fleet. Oh and I put better then a year on HFL3030 bearing without any issues, that year included racing and it still runs fine.

    -naz

    • tomahawktuning

      That’s good news.
      Sounds almost too good to be true.
      I’ll order that wider 3030 one way bearing and try it on an other bike with push start set-up.
      I still want to test the solid 3020 bearing with kick start on my motobecane.
      Those one way bearings don’t take as much beating on the track as they do on the streets with lots of stop and go.
      Thx for the tip Naz.

  2. tomahawktuning

    De rien Pat.
    Merci de m’avoir laisser publier tes photos comme example de double vario sans ta permission 😉
    @+

Leave a Reply

